Skimming Thumbnails in iPhoto 09

iPhoto 09 has some very different features.  For those new to iPhoto 09 and especially those new to iPhoto in general, navigating around your photos can be daunting.  It’s like being in a dream where you know you are supposed to go somewhere or do something but you have absolutely no clue what to do.

Well, here’s what you do.  Open iPhoto and select Events in the left-hand navigation panel.

iPhoto navigation on Technology Mavin dot com

Then, slowly move your mouse over the pictures of an event thumbnail.  It will automatically scroll through all of the photos that you have in that event.

Click here to see what this navigation will look like. (You don’t see my cursor arrow, but I am slowly dragging it across the thumbnail of the Seattle 2003 event.)

Another way to navigate the thumbnails in an event is to use your right- and left- arrows on your keyboard.  Simply point your mouse over the thumbnail picture.  Then, press the right-arrow key. Every time you press the key, you will see a different picture in your event.

I feel I have a little more control when I use the arrow keys instead of dragging my mouse across the thumbnail.  It’s easier to pause on the exact picture I want.

Comments are closed.